Courtesy of a private collector | Licence: All Rights Reserved
Courtesy of a private collector | Licence: All Rights Reserved

Mr Tucker’s House on Gun Carriage Island (Vansittart)

Date

19 September 1849

Artist

Collection

Comments? Do please tell us: [email protected]

From the Collection

Description

September 19th, Elwes left Gun-Carriage Island on a whale boat for Swan Island and on landing went to the house of the light-house keeper, Captain Johnson, having come nearly 50 miles. The following day, a vessel bound for Hobart Town with a cargo of sheep, took Elwes on board.
This is a page from a unique leather-bound volume of Robert Elwes’ travelogue 'A Sketcher's Tour Round the World', first published 1854, (see page 256 for corresponding passage).
The book contains the printed text of the manuscript but remarkably, the monochrome wash illustrations are hand painted by Elwes. The book bears a handwritten inscription ‘Mary F Elwes from her affect. husband Robert Elwes Jan 25 1878’, dated after Robert Elwes became ill at Congham, his Norfolk home. On 28th January 1878 , their youngest daughter Violet noted in her diary: “Papa much worse”. Less than three months later, Robert Elwes died on 17th April aged 58.

Image Licence

Image Credit

Courtesy of a private collector

From the Watercolour World

Location

Swan Island, Tasmania, Australia

Country