Bromley Hill, Kent, England
early 19th century
Comments? Do please tell us: [email protected]
Watercolour on laid paper. Amelia Long and her husband Charles Long (1761-1838), bought Bromley Hill House in 1801 and proceeded to enlarge the original 1760s house to their own designs and improved the much-admired garden which, by 1809, had two picturesque walks, each a mile long, and the present view of St. Paul's Cathedral. She exhibited four views taken in the grounds of Bromley Hill at the Royal Academy between 1811 and 1817. The gardens have long since disappeared but the house, much altered, survives as the Bromley Court Hotel on Bromley Hill.